Club History

Established in 1924, the club thrived in its early years.

At the peak of its popularity in the 1930s in was possible to buy a Sunday excursion train ticket from Aberdeen to Lumphanan for 4s 6d, which included a round of golf and afternoon tea at the hotel.

After the Second World War the membership declined and, with the closing of the Royal Deeside railway line, the club was disbanded in 1967, the course falling into disrepair in the ensuing two decades.

In the late 1980s moves were made to reinstate the club, but the cost of rebuilding the 9-hole course was prohibitive for Lumphanan's small community.

Nevertheless, the villagers wanted their golf club back and lack of funds was not going to stand in their way. Through the sheer hard work and determination of a few local champions, a new course emerged from the wilderness.

The re-creation of the course took a number of years winning the help and support of many in the local community. All the equipment was borrowed and much of the material donated.

The course finally re-opened in 1994. Since then a clubhouse has been built and the club is now an essential part of the local community. In 1999 further course improvements were undertaken and in 2000 Colin Wood, President of the Scottish Golf Union, officially opened the golfing gem we see today.

Local History

In 1057 the Scottish King Macbeth made his final stand in Lumphanan where he was killed and his severed head carried to Malcolm at Kincardine O'Neil. Macbeth's body was buried temporarily in Lumphanan before being removed to the traditional burial site of the Scottish Kings on the Island of lona. Today you can visit the battle site at the Peel of Lumphanan, passing Macbeth's well on the way from the village.

Lumphanan was a stop on the Deeside Railway line until its closure in 1966.

Our Partners